Quinoa Vegetable Soup

Quinoa Vegetable Soup

Quinoa, chickpeas, carrots, spinach, broth, crushed tomatoes, sage, thyme, garlic plus seasoning

I used the recipe found here

 

I’d had this recipe floating around my Pinterest for awhile but I’d been putting it off. I never liked vegetable soup as a kid and I’m still hesitant about it now, even though I’ve eaten/made it and liked it multiple times. Plus by the time that I was out of other dinner ideas, the weather had gotten hot and I wasn’t in the mood to stand over a simmering hot pot of soup.

Last week I was finally so stuck for dinner ideas (plus the fact that the weather had cooled a bit) that I decided to give this soup a go. I thought it would taste boring and healthy and would be one of those meals that are fine but I’m mostly eating for the health benefits, not for my own enjoyment. Boy, was I wrong! Rarely have my boyfriend and I both been so happy to eat leftovers of something.

Quinoa in soup makes it deceptively filling and isn’t as obnoxious as dumplings or rice in a soup. The chickpeas added an interesting texture and the herby seasonings were oh so tasty! I only wish that I had seasoned the soup a bit more because it ended up tasting really strongly of carrot. I love carrots and my fiance tolerates them, but I found it weird to eat a soup with so many ingredients (and a tomato base!) that tasted almost solely of carrot. I guess that’s what I get for not measuring my seasonings! 😉

Leave a comment