Loaded Chicken and Potato Casserole

 

Loaded Chicken and Potato Casserole

Chicken breast, white potatoes, bacon, olive oil, salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, marble cheese

Original recipe found here

 

After a few days of thinking about it, I’m still feeling conflicted about this dish. It should have been one of my favourites. It has everything I like: chicken, potatoes, bacon, cheese. It’s an easy casserole that made the house smell delicious. Yet I still couldn’t muster more than a mild enthusiasm over it.

I think the problem was the oiliness. I greased the casserole dish with olive oil, then made the seasoned oil the recipe calls for to toss all the ingredients in. All that plus the grease from the bacon and cheese were overpowering to me. To me, it basically just tasted fatty. All that said, my boyfriend loved it! He ate probably more of it than he should have because he enjoyed it so much.

In fact, this was one of the most house-dividing dishes I’ve made yet. Usually we can agree that something was tasty or not with a few points difference in either direction but this one was very polarized. I probably won’t make it again just because I’m in charge of choosing meals but others (including BF) would probably mark it in their top 10. Just goes to show that tastes can really differ!

Leave a comment