Avocado Chicken Salad Sliders

17103497_10211303833608255_6617869009249541563_n

Avocado Chicken Salad Sliders

Avocado, chicken breast, basil pesto, baby spinach, mini ciabatta buns

 

My fiance and I were sitting on the couch lounging last week, me reading my book and him reading my blog. After reviewing the recent avocado recipes he asked if we could use avocado in chicken salad, too. I wasn’t sure, but I agreed that we could try!

This recipe is basically the same as the Smashed Avocado Chickpea Salad I made before so of course it tasted great! We served the chicken salad warm because it just came out of the oven, but you could eat it cold, too. You also don’t have to use pesto to flavor it like we did; I’m just obsessed with the taste. Plain avocado or your favorite herbs or spices could make these sandwiches just as yummy.

With the good fats and lean protein, these sliders were surprisingly filling. Between us, my fiance and I only ate one shredded chicken breast mixed in with one whole avocado, plus some veggies on the side. These are a great way to stretch your food budget!

 

Leave a Reply

