Smashed Chickpea and Avocado Salad Sandwiches

16730510_10211170201227529_3685358513560427095_n.jpg

Smashed Chickpea and Avocado Salad Sandwiches

Avocado, chickpeas, basil pesto, baby spinach, whole wheat buns

Original recipe found here

 

As anyone who frequents this blog knows I have a hesitant friendship with avocados. Alone they’re not my favorite thing to eat but I like them in things okay. When I came across this unique dish, though, I knew I had to try it. My fiance loves avocados with a fiery passion so he quickly agreed.

Turns out that mashed avocado makes a healthier and more flavorful alternative to mayo in picnic type salad creations. This fun dish uses chickpeas in place of potatoes or chicken to make a protein-packed and yummy sandwich filling. Adding pesto was what set this over the edge from ok to amaze-balls for me, though. The garlic, cheese, and basil flavors overpowered that avocado-y taste and made me go for seconds. Finally, the baby spinach leaves gave the sammies yet another element of flavor and texture, plus you can never have enough green, leafy veggies in your diet!

Warning: I didn’t remove the skins from the chickpeas (because ain’t nobody got time for that) but I probably should have quite frankly. The beans didn’t smash too well because of it so we had more whole beans than the original recipe. It wasn’t really a big deal but did make spreading it onto the sammies a little tougher!

One thought on “Smashed Chickpea and Avocado Salad Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

