Lentil and Sweet Potato Soup

15202497_10210314995727926_1752458932087736167_n

Lentil and Sweet Potato Soup

Green lentils, sweet potatoes, broth, thyme, paprika, garlic plus seasoning, black pepper

 

To be honest, this was not my favorite soup I’ve ever made. The lentils made the broth kind of gross-looking and weird-tasting in a way that even sweet potatoes couldn’t remedy for me. My fiance, who is normally pretty agreeable about trying vegetarian and vegan dishes, kicked up a bit of a fuss about this one.

I wonder if I seasoned it differently or used a different variety of lentils if this soup would be better. Lentils have a distinctive taste that is kind of weird to me so they kind of beg for strong seasoning. That’s why they’re good in a flavorful sauce or stew. Suggestions for how to make lentil soup/stew more palatable is welcome, because I know it’s a super healthy dish!

Leave a Reply

