Sausage Stuffed Shells with Butternut Squash Sauce

14495484_10209799494240711_1554760998031431466_n

Sausage Stuffed Shells with Butternut Squash Sauce

Jumbo pasta shells, honey garlic sausage, spinach, Italian cheese blend AND butternut squash, thyme, broth, garlic plus seasoning, paprika

 

Ok. No joke, these were one of the best things I have EVER made. I actually came up with this recipe on my own when I had a kitchen full of random ingredients I wanted to use up. A few leftover sausages from another dish, frozen spinach that had been hanging out in the freezer for awhile, half a bag of frozen and cubed butternut squash, a box of pasta shells that I had no clue what I would ever do with. So I decided to throw them all together and they made this, a most tasty autumn pasta dish.

I used the same butternut squash sauce I had made before and I think it was even better this time. Super easy to make and soooo delicious! I love butternut squash all times of the year but now that fall has hit, it really fits the flavor of the season. I also made the sauce really thick so it would stay on the shells better. Nothing is worse than having a delicious sauce that mostly gets left on the plate because it is too runny to stick to the pasta!

The honey garlic sausages along with the garlicky yet sweet sauce came together for an explosion of warm fall flavors. I honestly can’t say enough about these. They are just so yummy! You have to try them for yourself to see. Even with the sauce, this dish isn’t that hard or time-consuming to make. I can’t wait to make these lil’ beauts again!

Leave a Reply

