Bean, Kale, and Egg Stew

14519679_10209756328881604_5811146499213266296_n

Bean, Kale, and Egg Stew

Kale, six bean medley, egg, broth, salt, pepper, Cajun seasoning

I used the recipe found here

 

I know this soup looks and sounds random. But believe you me, it was TASTY.  It is such a simple recipe: just beans, kale, broth, some seasonings, and an egg on top. But that’s part of the reason it’s so good! I was super intrigued by the idea of a fried egg on top of soup. Turns out, it’s amazing! My fiance’s runny egg oozed into the soup, adding flavor and color. My harder egg added yet another texture to this already unique bowl.

The Cajun seasoning adds some sneaky heat to this soup. You’re just enjoying your beans when all of a sudden your mouth feels warm. Yum! It is the perfect subtle yet spicy seasoning to make bland beans and kale taste special.

When I was shopping for food I decided that I’d had enough of tearing up my own kale. It takes me forever! So I bought some pre-torn stuff in a bag instead. I don’t want to say it was  BIG mistake, but I’m not sure I’ll buy that again. The problem was, they left the thick stalks and just chopped the kale straight across. The reason it takes me so long to tear is because I take off just the leaves, throwing out any tough stalks and leaf veins.  So I was forced to either eat or pick out every single chunk of stalk. Ugh! In the end, the bagged kind saved me very little time and effort for more money.

Leave a Reply

