Salsa Chicken Stuffed Peppers

14344277_10209713099560898_7610529463820115597_n.jpg

Salsa Chicken Stuffed Peppers

Red bell peppers, chicken breast, salsa, feta cheese, Tex-Mex seasoning

I used the recipe found here

 

This dinner was the first time I had ever cooked a significant dish just for myself. My BF was away on business and I was all alone for a few days. The first few days I just made quick dishes or ate leftovers but my last day alone I had no choice but to make these stuffed peppers. They took me longer than I anticipated to make so I ended up eating super late but they were YUMMY.

When I mixed up the chicken filling for these, I thought it was going to be a disaster because the salsa I used was extremely runny. On the contrary, it actually soaked into the chicken and kept it juicy for days afterward in the fridge! These peppers were flavorful, tender, bright, and the perfect dinner for just me. I like Mexican flavors and chicken a lot more than my fiance does, so he was more than happy to let me try these on my own.

The only thing I would change if I made these again is to stuff whole peppers instead of halves. The halves don’t lay flat on the cookie sheet very well, leading to a mess of grease and juice. But they do photograph way better this way, so to each her own. If you don’t like feta, any cheese would taste amazing on these. In fact, the original uses lots of cheddar to make a lil’ blanket over top of each pepper half, but I didn’t have any of that on hand and had forgotten to buy it at the store.

Leave a Reply

