Meatball Stew

14322238_10209619547062144_6987621582606173152_n

Meatball Stew

Ground beef, breadcrumbs, onion soup mix, brown gravy, white potatoes, carrots

The original recipe is found here

 

Full disclosure: I am not a huge fan of beef. Ground beef is tolerable but all other types I just can’t get behind. I never have. Having to deal with the big chunks of fat and stringy texture turns me right off. My fiance, on the other hand, lives for beef (well, all meat really) and practically begs me to make it. When I came across this recipe I knew I had found the perfect compromise.

Instead of using chunks of beef, this stew has big yummy meatballs, one of the few forms of beef I actually enjoy. The recipe was pretty easy to make, especially because you don’t have to worry about seasoning the meatballs perfectly since the stew is so flavorful. The original recipe had tomatoes (or tomato sauce?) too, but I didn’t add it and frankly didn’t miss it. I was afraid when I had to use water instead of broth as the liquid, but the soup mix and canned gravy provided more than enough salt and flavor.

We enjoyed our stew with just the classic potatoes and carrots but you could easily add in your other favorite veggies for extra nutrition. This dish is by far not the healthiest, but it was warm and comforting and homey, perfect for this time of year when the chill is starting to set in.

Leave a Reply

