Quinoa “Fried Rice”

14232518_10209548297760956_840995962306123613_n

Quinoa “Fried Rice”

Quinoa, soy sauce, ground ginger, mixed veggies, eggs, garlic plus seasoning

You can find the original recipe here

 

I love me a good quinoa bowl, so any new way I can make them is welcome. This innovative dish was so yummy that I actually made it again already! It has all the yummy flavors of fried rice with the added protein punch of quinoa. Genius!

It was a fluffy, salty, not greasy, and overall awesome dinner. This dish also only took about 10 or 15 active minutes to make (this doesn’t include the 15 it takes for the quinoa to cook), so it’s a perfect busy or lazy day meal.

The original recipe says to use a variety of fresh vegetables, but I took the easy (and budget-friendly) way out and got a bag of frozen mixed veggies instead. They just took a little longer to cook, but not by much. The second time I made this I also didn’t add the eggs because I didn’t really feel like they added much to the dish. Besides being yet another source of protein and staying true to the “fried rice” idea, they didn’t serve much purpose.

The only downside to this is that you have to pre-cook the quinoa, then cook it again in the wok with the veggies. But I guess that’s what you do with fried rice too, so what am I saying?

Leave a Reply

