One-Pan Gnocchi

One-Pan Gnocchi

Gnocchi, baby spinach, mild Italian turkey sausage, garlic and olive oil diced tomatoes, shredded cheese, garlic plus seasoning

You can find the original recipe  here

 

When I planned to make this dish, I wasn’t expecting anything special. I’d made a bunch of gnocchi dishes before, with various combinations of meats and veggies mixed in. This one was super delicious though! I used two packages of gnocchi and we still barely had enough to eat. I’d never really made a gnocchi dish with a sauce before so that was a nice change of pace.

Using a turkey sausage for this recipe was a great choice. It was a lot less greasy, which was better on our stomachs and let the flavors of the other ingredients shine too, rather than just tasting like HI THERE’S MEAT IN HERE! If you use a hotter sausage you could use plain tomatoes or nix the seasonings but the sausage was so mild we had to use both. I’m not complaining though because I love my garlic plus!

I was going to just top each bowl with cheese but decided at the last minute to mix it in like you do with mac and cheese. It turned out awesome! The cheese mixed with the tomatoes to make a creamy, thick sauce that we couldn’t get enough of!

Leave a Reply

