Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna

Mexican Lasagna

Whole wheat tortillas, black beans, corn, green bell pepper, salsa, taco sauce, Tex-Mex cheese blend, chili seasoning mix

You can find the original recipe here

 

OMG yum! This was one of the most pleasant surprises to date. I had been putting off making this dish all week because of how long it takes to make. Cut the peppers, sautee all the veggies, assemble the dish, then bake for 40 minutes. Nothing about this dish is difficult, but it is time-consuming. That’s why I waited to make it til a weekend night when I had all the time in the world.

I ended up making a few changes to this dish that I didn’t plan on. The decisions were based on my taste that day. Because I wanted a strictly spicy, savory dish, I left out the butternut squash and red bell pepper. Next time I make this (and there will definitely be a next time), I’ll probably add them because they’re both ingredients I like and it would be interesting to see how it changes the overall flavour.

The texture of this dish was super fun. I thought the tortillas would get soggy from all the liquid but they actually came out with a perfect texture, much like the pasta in regular lasagna. The veggies added some crunch and made the dish really filling. The best part was using salsa, taco sauce, AND chili seasoning; all of these combined made for a really intense and yummy taco flavour.

Leave a Reply

