Broccoli Quinoa Bowl

Broccoli and Spinach Quinoa Bowl

Quinoa, broccoli, basil pesto, spinach, marble cheese

 

As most of you know, pesto is my life. I’ve never made it myself yet because I’m afraid of messing it up and turning myself off pesto forever, which is not a risk I’m willing to take. I’m especially into pairing it with other green things these days. The rich, bright flavours of pesto pairs so well with the very plant-y tastes of green veggies like spinach and broccoli. I’ve also gotten onto just fresh basil as an ingredient in dishes, but that’s another post.

Quinoa bowls are seriously one of the most versatile things you can make. They’re light enough for lunch, heavy enough for dinner, and you can put most anything in there that you like. Quinoa, like most grains, tastes bland as can be, so any flavour profile you can think of (even sweet!) goes well with it. I also enjoy a good quinoa salad every now and again but I’m super weird about cold food so I’d probably never make one as the main dish for dinner.

I have no idea why but cold food (aside from things like ice cream or other things that NEED to be cold) freaks me out. I don’t eat deli meat sandwiches unless they’re warm like a melt or panini. The idea of a cold soup makes me gag. I’ve even been known to microwave a salad before. I’m not sure where this comes from. Maybe I think cold food will poison me? The point is, that’s why I prefer warm, gooey quinoa bowls a million times over a quinoa salad.

Leave a Reply

