Sweet Potato, Chickpea, and Chorizo Casserole

Sweet Potato, Chickpea, and Chorizo Casserole

Sweet potatoes, chickpeas, chorizo

Inspired by this recipe

 

Originally, this dish was supposed to be another breakfast hash. But when the time came to actually make it, I just wasn’t feeling eggs for some reason. That’s kind of a rarity for me to be honest, so I even surprised myself. I decided that the other three ingredients stood fine on their own, plus I was hungry and didn’t want to take the time to do the extra steps.

If I could handle spicy food better, this would probably be one of my all-time favourites. The sausage was flavourful and not too greasy, the sweet potatoes were tender and yummy, and the chickpeas added a bit of texture and extra protein. It was just so HOT. I’m such a wimp when it comes to spice, so my boyfriend was loving this while my mouth was on fire.  And there’s really nothing that off-sets the heat. If you added some cheese to this, weird as that sounds, it would help. Maybe some feta.

Buying groceries for this dish was the first time I ever got meat from the butcher counter by myself. (Well I wasn’t by myself. My fiance was with me. But I mean as an adult, not with my parents.) I felt like a real adult! 😛 Usually I just settle for whatever meats are packaged in the refrigerated section but this time I really wanted chorizo, not some other sausage. Being an adult has really pushed me out of the comfort zone of my social weirdness. Talking to a butcher, scheduling/going dentist appointments, job interviews. These are all literally my nightmare and all things I will have to do til the day I die. And they’re not actually as bad as kid me imagined.

Leave a Reply

