Cheesy Rice with Sausage and Broccoli

Cheesy Rice with Sausage and Broccoli

Brown rice, broccoli, hot Italian sausage, three Italian cheese blend

 

This dish was one of the easiest I’ve ever made! I wasn’t sure when my boyfriend was going to get home since he was working late, so I decided to make this dish, which requires a long cooking time but a really tiny preparation time. I put the rice on the stove (it’s the long-haul kind that takes about 40 minutes), popped the sausages in the oven, and went about my day. Then simply stir the broccoli and cheese in with the rice, slice the sausages and mix them in too, and serve. Because I didn’t actually cook the broccoli at all, it was only slightly softened by the heat of the rice. If you don’t prefer your veggies to have a crunch in a dish like this, you can steam or fry them ahead of time.

The easiest way to really stretch your dollar is to split your meats between 2 dishes with filler ingredients. I managed to use one package of sausages in both this dish and a pasta dish another day. I know it isn’t the healthiest to eat so many grains and carbs, but when you’re on a budget and trying to use up the food you already have in the house (plus not buy any more groceries), sometimes you do what you have to do.

Leave a Reply

