Cauliflower and Chickpea Tacos

Cauliflower and Chickpea Tacos

Whole wheat tortillas, chickpeas, cauliflower, Tex-Mex cheese blend, chopped green chilies, paprika, chili seasoning blend, garlic plus seasoning, salt, pepper

You can find the original recipe here

 

This yummy dinner was my boyfriend’s meal for the week. In case you missed it, he decided that each week (approximately) he’ll choose and cook a dinner for us. Imagine my surprise when he chose a vegetarian dish! The concept of these tacos sounds super weird but they were actually really tasty!

Though I didn’t make it, I know that this dinner was pretty simple. Just mix all the seasonings together, coat the chickpeas and cauliflower in olive oil, toss them in the seasoning mixture, and roast. Be sure to use lots of seasonings, even more than you think you need, because beans are bland and cauliflower has a really strong taste. The original recipe didn’t call for cheese, but we added some to our tacos and it gave them a little bit of creaminess to counteract all the veggies.

The recipe includes a coleslaw for topping off the tacos but we didn’t make it. My fiance loves coleslaw but I hate both mayo and cabbage so I begged him to forego it. I’m not sure if BF was just being modest or if he didn’t really like this dish; I liked it a lot and was happy for the leftovers!

Leave a Reply

