Roasted Vegetable and Feta Quinoa

Roasted Vegetable and Feta Quinoa

Quinoa, white beans, spinach, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, feta cheese, salt, pepper, garlic plus seasoning, lemon juice

I modified this recipe

 

This was one of those recipes that requires a lot of what I consider unnecessary cooking. So I simply didn’t do it. You’re supposed to roast the veggies, cook the quinoa, then throw it together in a casserole dish and bake it. Besides melting the feta (which worked just fine by folding it into the hot quinoa), I couldn’t see the point. It just seemed like a way to tack on extra dollars to our electric bill. Instead, we spooned the amount of quinoa and veggies we wanted into our bowls and mixed it all together.

I was honestly kind of disappointed in this dish overall. It didn’t really have any strong seasoning, so it basically tasted like bell peppers. Maybe if I had used olives like the original poster, it would have tasted like something but I do not count olives as friends so that was a no-go. The more I think about it, the more I wonder how much I enjoy these dinners based on context. By that I mean, my boyfriend was in a bad mood when we ate this, so maybe that’s why I view it negatively. Conversely, I might have really liked some of the dishes because I was super happy that day, or because I cooked them as a team with my guy. Either way, this was just another quinoa bowl, nothing special.

One thought on “Roasted Vegetable and Feta Quinoa

Leave a Reply

