Pasta with Butternut Squash Sauce

Pasta with Butternut Squash Sauce

Cavatappi pasta, butternut squash, broth, lemon juice, thyme, garlic plus seasoning, salt, pepper, three Italian cheese blend, spinach, chickpeas

I modified this recipe

 

I loved this dish! I was a little hesitant to make my own pasta sauce but since my second try at cauliflower alfredo went well, I gave this recipe a go. It turned out so delicious! Even my fiance, who isn’t the biggest butternut squash fan, had seconds of this one. The sauce has a very inoffensive, non-squashy taste and really takes on the flavours of the seasonings. For some reason it didn’t coat the pasta that well but that was a small hiccup in an otherwise awesome dinner.

I made a lot of modifications to the original recipe for this dish, mostly because I’m cheap. Pine nuts and fancy cheese seemed like really expensive garnishes, so I used the shredded cheese I already had in the house. Instead of using the cute little ear-shaped pasta, I made cavatappi because I already had a bag in my cupboard; the bigger shape could have been the reason the sauce didn’t coat but it wasn’t a huge deal. Finally, I subbed in spinach for the arugula; I just can’t get behind that spicy taste but I still wanted to add some leafy greens to the meal!

Even if you’re like me and don’t have a food processor, I really recommend making this one. I made the sauce almost entirely with a potato masher; my boyfriend used our immersion blender for less than 5 minutes to completely smooth it out at the end. This dish is so healthy and yummy and I can’t wait to make it again!

One thought on “Pasta with Butternut Squash Sauce

Leave a Reply

