Breakfast for Dinner #22: Vegetarian Breakfast Quesadilla 

 

Vegetarian Breakfast Quesadillas

Eggs, whole wheat tortillas, black beans, avocado, chili seasoning blend, marble cheese, spinach

I used the recipe found here

 

I had such high hopes for this breakfast-for-dinner beauty, but it fell flat for me. I think a lot of it had to do with the cooking process. I haven’t made quesadillas in awhile and for some reason I thought it’d be a great idea to bake them instead of fry them. Wrong. The top tortilla did basically nothing and we ended up taking them off and trying to wrap up the bottoms like tacos. I don’t know if it was the baking or the fact that we didn’t have an adequate amount of cheese to make the tortillas stick together but this method def DID NOT work.

Without a lot of cheese, this dish was actually kind of bland. The strongest taste was the avocado, which I’m still warming up to. My BF LOVES avocados, so he was pretty excited about the taste, but it was a little too much for me. I’ve been eating avocados for their healthy fats, not for their flavour.

This dish could be really fun and flavourful if you did it right. It just didn’t work out for me and honestly, I have so many vegetarian recipes in my arsenal now that I probably won’t go back to it.

Leave a Reply

