Sweet Potato Chili Over Brown Rice

 

Sweet Potato and White Bean Chili

Sweet potato, white beans, red bell pepper, garlic-and-olive-oil diced tomatoes, Tex-Mex cheese blend, cinnamon, olive oil, paprika, chili seasoning mix, brown rice

I used the recipe found here

 

Even though it’s spring, I was hungry for chili. I could eat soups and stews all year round, even when it’s sweltering! Right now, though, it is decidedly not sweltering in Ottawa. In fact, it’s still been pretty cold, at least by April standards! The day I made this dinner was a chilly, dreary day, the kind where it looks like it could rain all day long but never does. I thought a hearty, healthy chili over rice was the perfect solution to a blah day. Slaving over the hot stove helped create the illusion of warmer weather too 😉

When I found this recipe, I was expecting it to just be “ok.” I’d made a meatless chili before and while it was good, it didn’t blow me away. This one did. Roasting the sweet potatoes before adding them to the mix intensified their flavour and gave them the perfect, soft-but-not-mushy texture. The cinnamon really added a unique flavour to this dish too. The combination of seasonings I used made this taste like no other chili I’ve ever had; it was lighter, sweeter, and not at all spicy, while not being bland at all. This dish was also super filling! Paired with the rice, even my bottomless pit BF could only finish one big bowl. I can’t wait to make this one again!

Leave a Reply

