Breakfast for Dinner #21: Tater Tot Breakfast Casserole

 

Tater Tot Breakfast Casserole

Tater tots, breakfast sausage, eggs, Tex-Mex cheese blend, garlic plus seasoning, salt, pepper

You can find the recipe for this dish here

 

I don’t really believe in “cheat meals” but if I did, this would most definitely fall into that category. There is little of nutritional value in this dish (save the protein from the sausage and eggs) but I’m telling you, it was TASTY. I love me a breakfast sausage and that herby, porky flavour permeated the entire dish. The greasy cheese and tots were pure comfort food, perfect for a Monday night when neither BF nor I were feeling the start of another work week. I loved how the eggs fell into the cracks between the tater tots, so you took a bite and it was like “surprise, here’s some scrambled egg!”

In the past few months I’ve been trying to get away from meals like this. Dinners with little to no veggies or fruits and that have tons of grease and carbs are slowly being phased out of our diet. Instead, I’ve been working hard to make dinners that are vegetarian or vegan and focus on micronutrients. Even though I still use a lot of frozen and canned veggies and beans, I think eating them more than animal products is at least a start, especially on my budget. That said, I still like to throw some meals like this in every now and again as a treat, mostly for the novelty. I don’t think I’ll ever fully cut animal products from my diet but as you can see from past posts, I’ve come a long way!

Leave a Reply

