Breakfast for Dinner #20: Mushroom, Spinach, and Feta Frittata

 

Mushroom, Spinach, and Feta Frittata

Button mushrooms, spinach, feta cheese, eggs, salt, pepper

 

I didn’t realize, but it’s been quite awhile since I did a breakfast for dinner! This one was worth the wait for sure. Towards the end of the week I had lots of rando leftover ingredients from other dishes in my fridge and no recipe ideas left in my meal plan. So I did what I always do in this situation: make an egg dish! Whether it’s a scramble or a frittata, eggs pair perfectly with almost every meat and veggie you could possibly have on hand and trying a bunch of different combos could lead to the discovery of a new favourite! Eggs also make an easy and crowd-pleasing dinner choice for the end of the week when everyone is tired and doesn’t want to cook but still craves a yummy meal.

I was actually really proud of myself for this dinner, not because it was technically challenging or new and unique, but because it shows how far I’ve come with my picky eating. I know I often talk about this but it’s honestly still really hard for me to even believe it myself. Even two years ago I wouldn’t have eaten anything in this dish except the eggs. I was super unwilling to try new things and I’m sure my health suffered for it. When I moved away from home and into my graduate school residence which served lots of veggies and cuisines from other cultures, I was forced to try a lot of new things. I’m so glad I did! Now my range of recipe choices has widened drastically and I get a more varied selection of vitamins, nutrients, and flavours in my meals.

Leave a Reply

