Chicken and Veggie Bake

Chicken Veggie Bake

Chicken breast, sweet potato, broccoli, feta cheese, olive oil, garlic plus seasoning

I made a very modified version of the recipe found here

 

When I was making my grocery list and realized what all was in this casserole, I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. I decided to make it anyway because I love all the ingredients individually. But seriously, in what world does sweet potato, broccoli, and feta go together? Apparently this world! This dish was delicious and frankly could have made more 😉

The crunchy broccoli gave us our greens, the sweet potato brought tons of vitamins and flavour, and the chicken was a source of yummy, healthy protein. It was also a fun game to play “Is this chunk feta or chicken?” because no matter the answer, you win! The original recipe has a lot more ingredients than this, but because of our tastes I didn’t add them and I frankly don’t fee like we missed out on anything. The onions would have been too overpowering, my BF abhors raisins, and I thought the crunchy nuts belonged more on a salad than on a baked casserole like this.

One thing I really loved about this recipe was that it required fewer steps than many dishes like it. There was no need to pre-cook anything, so you just cut everything up into bite-size pieces and throw it all into a baking dish. Even though cutting chicken and peeling/dicing sweet potato can be a pain, it sure beats cooking it all ahead of time just to warm up your oven for basically no reason. I applaud the original cooks for being energy efficient!

One thought on “Chicken and Veggie Bake

Leave a Reply

