Cauliflower and White Bean Soup

 

Cauliflower and White Bean Soup

White kidney beans, cauliflower, chicken broth, paprika, chili powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, olive oil

Based off this recipe

 

I’ll admit right off the bat that I made a TON of modifications to this recipe. In fact, the only real similarities are that it’s a white bean and cauliflower soup seasoned with paprika. That’s not to say that the original recipe is a bad one, nor that I wouldn’t have liked it if I made it according to the recipe, it just requires a lot of ingredients that I don’t normally like to cook with/thought it was random to buy just for this (lookin’ at you, liquid smoke). So the point is, I made a soup not like the original soup but both are probably yummy.

Actually, the one I made was sort of bland. I put in what I thought was plenty of seasoning but it just tasted like cauliflower. Using an entire carton of broth also made it more runny than I like. I guess I’m too used to making absurdly thick soups now. The consistency was also why I skipped out on adding [almond] milk to the soup; if I’d added any more liquid in addition to the broth, it would’ve basically been cauliflower water. If I make this again, I’ll know to cut back the broth and add milk instead to achieve that creamy chowder consistency the recipe aims for.

Leave a Reply

