Pesto Chicken Casserole

 

Pesto Chicken Casserole

Chicken breast, basil pesto, garlic and olive oil diced tomatoes, spinach, Italian cheese blend, sun-dried tomato basil Wheat Thins, margarine, cavatappi pasta

You can find the original recipe here

 

Man, I thought the pesto pasta I’d made before was good, but this unique casserole is the bomb! I made a lot of changes to the original recipe but I’m really pleased with how my version came out. For instance, the recipe uses Alfredo sauce, while I just used about a third of a bottle of pesto and let the rest of the ingredients speak for themselves. It’s hard for some people to imagine eating pasta without a sauce but it really worked!  Every bite of this dish was full of different flavours and textures, which made me feel satisfied with less food.

I was going to forego the cracker topping listed in the recipe but then thought “What the heck? It’s Sunday and I’ve been chilling all day, what do I have better to do than a kitchen experiment?” So experiment I did. We don’t really eat crackers but had just bought some sun-dried tomato and basil flavoured Wheat Thins to dip in hummus and they were the perfect fit for this topping! The extra salt and Italian flavour profile (plus the crispy crunch) added a fun and yummy touch to this casserole.

If you’re looking for a new way to make pasta, this one is delicious and pretty healthy!

Leave a Reply

