BBQ Meatball Sandwiches with Butternut Squash Mash

BBQ Meatball Sandwiches with Butternut Squash Mash

Ground turkey, egg, breadcrumbs, BBQ sauce AND butternut squash, cinnamon, brown sugar, vanilla almond milk

 

This dinner was the “I still need another dish and can’t think of anything” and I think it shows. I sort of threw this together from ingredients I already had in the house so while it was perfectly fine, this was definitely not the most unique or thrilling dinner we’ve eaten.

I think this dish would have turned out better if I’d made the meatballs in the crockpot as I originally intended. By the time I decided which dish to make that day, though, the meatballs wouldn’t have been done by an acceptable dinner time. Plus I find it silly to pre-cook the meatballs so they don’t fall apart while slow-cooking; it makes sense physically but unless you’re taking them to a party, why would I use the electricity to cook them twice? They still ended up taking quite awhile to bake in the oven, probably because they were super monster meatballs! In the end, these weren’t the best meatball sammies I’ve ever eaten but they were fine for a chill weekday meal at home.

I wracked my brain for hours to decide what to make as a side for the sandwiches and finally landed on butternut squash mash, which I’d never cooked or even eaten before. We had some leftover frozen, pre-diced squash so it meant very little work for me (after a day at work I am not in the mood to do any fancy prep). The mash tasted great but was a bit too watery. I’m not sure if that was on me for adding too much almond milk or a result of being cooked for way too long in order to stay hot while the meatballs baked.

Because I genuinely like both parts of this menu, I will probably make them both again, whether together or separate. I just have to make some tweaks to the prep to make them perfect!

Leave a Reply

