Sausage and Butternut Squash Quinoa

 

Sausage and Butternut Squash Quinoa

Hot Italian sausage, quinoa, butternut squash, garlic and olive oil diced tomatoes, Italian cheese blend

Inspired by this recipe

 

Quinoa wins again! Now that I’ve stopped fighting with it, it’s become one of my best allies. I thought I’d really put quinoa to the test by trying this dish, which sorta kinda uses it to replace pasta. It totally worked! Mixing the quinoa with sausage and tomatoes made a filling Italian-style dish, while adding the butternut squash gave it a unique flavour and some extra health benefits.

When I came across this recipe I was honestly kind of afraid that the squash would taste too weird in the dish. I love butternut squash but it just didn’t seem to go with the rest of the casserole. I’m so glad I gave it a try anyway because this dinner was the bomb! The squash gave each bite a sweet surprise to an otherwise typical Italian-flavoured dish. My boyfriend even raved about it!

I only wish that this yummy dish had photographed better. In the weird light the tomatoes look off in colour and everything together looks like “slop in a dish” as my mom would say. But I promise this dish tastes amazing and is pretty darn good for you, especially if you use chicken sausage instead of regular pork. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

