Garlic Veggie Spaghetti

 

Garlic Veggie Spaghetti

Spaghetti, red bell pepper, spinach, broccoli, garlic plus seasoning, olive oil, Italian cheese blend, salt, lemon juice

You can find the original recipe here

 

After a dinner containing exactly zero veggies or fruits (see Crab Cakes), I thought a vegetarian meal would be a nice follow-up the next evening. A simple pasta dish with just a garlic and olive oil “sauce” and lots of vegetables was also a nice break after the stress of perfecting the seafood dinner the night before. While I can’t say that I enjoyed this one more (because duh crab cakes are lyfe), this dish tasted as yummy as pasta and vegetables possibly can!

It’s rare that I make a pasta dish with no tomatoes, so when I came across this recipe, I was intrigued. The original recipe actually suggests making a balsamic vinegar reduction as a sauce but I do NOT count vinegar as a friend, especially not that variety. It just burns my tongue too much, and not in the good way that spicy food does. So in the Ann tradition of not exactly following recipe directions, I simplified an already simple dish by dousing the whole thing in lots of olive oil and garlic plus seasoning, and finished with a sprinkle of cheese for good measure.

Though I’ve made my share of pasta and vegetable dishes, this was one of my faves. Roasting the broccoli and red pepper really brought out their flavours; the peppers tasted so deliciously sweet! That combined with the absurd amount of garlic powder I used made this a tasty, filling, and pretty darn healthy dinner that I can’t wait to make again!

Leave a Reply

