Chili Cornbread Skillet

 

Chili Cornbread Skillet

Ground turkey, corn, black beans, chili seasoning, chili-seasoned tomatoes, corn meal, egg, baking powder, milk

I used this recipe

 

This dinner had all the makings of a disaster from the minute I couldn’t find cornbread mix or even cornmeal in the regular grocery store and had to trek to Whole Foods (what even is this country?!). We didn’t have the proper size skillet. The tomatoes made the chili seem too watery at first. What if the cornbread batter overflowed?? Luckily, it didn’t turn out to be a disaster at all but, in fact, one of our all-time faves!

I love love love me some chili and cornbread so when I found a recipe that let me kill both birds with one dish I was beyond thrilled. We hadn’t had chili in awhile and I was kind of craving it but of course wanted to find a new twist on it so I could feature the dish on the blog. This dinner fit the bill! I’m actually surprised I liked this as much as I did considering I’m more of a cornbread-on-the-side than a cornbread-crumbled-in kind of girl. But it was heavenly.

My only word of warning: this dish is FREAKING HEAVY. And I don’t just mean in your stomach. On that front it’s pretty standard for chili. I mean the literal skillet filled to the brim with meat and beans and cornbread batter was so heavy that I made my BF take it in and out of the oven so I wouldn’t have a spillage disaster. Partners are handy that way 😉

One thought on “Chili Cornbread Skillet

Leave a Reply

