Pasta with Sausage, Chickpeas, and Spinach

 

Pasta with Sausage, Chickpeas, and Spinach

Spinach, chickpeas, country garlic sausage, cavatappi pasta, Italian cheese blend

Extremely modified version of the recipe found here

 

The recipe I was going to use for this is not at all what I ended up making. Basically, I took the idea of putting sausage, chickpeas, and spinach together in one dish and that’s about it. Firstly, I couldn’t find any chorizo at my grocery store so I decided to use a kind of sausage we’d never tried instead. I also wasn’t about to buy an entire bell pepper to only use a quarter cup of it; same with dry white wine (I only drink sweet). When I was nearly done cooking, the dish felt incomplete somehow, so I decided to add pasta to give it a little more substance. Good thing, too, since we still finished it all! Finally, I felt that baking this as a casserole was pointless, so I just cooked it all in one pan, mixed in the pasta, and served. So while I’m sure that Emeril knows better than me when writing recipes, I decided to make this one my own.

I’m glad I made all the changes I did. It came out really tasty! The sausage I used was delicious: garlicky but not overpowering at all. The spinach made me feel healthy and of course the chickpeas were my favourite part because they’re one of my all-time faves. I could’ve seasoned it a little more but that was the only downside. We even sprinkled a bit of cheese on top to add another flavour. Very yummy Thursday dinner!

 

Leave a Reply

