Chicken Fajita Soup

 

Chicken Fajita Soup

Chicken breast, brown rice, black beans, chili-spiced tomatoes, chili seasoning, red bell pepper, chicken broth

You can find the recipe I used here

 

Yum. Yum. Did I mention yum? This was one of my favourite soups I’ve made! I’m not sure why but I had this one hovering on the menu for awhile, carrying it over from one week to the next and putting off making it. I’m so glad I finally did! It was delicious, flavourful, pretty healthy, and easy to prepare! And even though I made a smaller batch than the recipe calls for, this still gave us a ton of leftovers. Yay for yummy lunches!

This soup has everything. There’s lots of protein (chicken, beans, brown rice) and a good amount of veggies (bell pepper, tomatoes), plus it’s seasoned two ways which really packs a punch of spicy flavour! Ever since I was a kid I’ve been a sucker for bread with a meal, especially soup because I love to dip! I wasn’t feeling plain old sliced bread with such a fun soup, so I got creative with some random tortillas that were hiding out in the fridge and shredded cheese. Impromptu quesadilla! It wasn’t quite right since I thought of it last minute and just made it in the microwave, but it added some different flavours and textures to round out the meal.

Make this one when you want to spice it up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

