Bean and Sausage Stew

 

Bean and Sausage Stew

Hot Italian sausages, mixed beans, black pepper and garlic diced tomatoes, oregano, sugar

I found the recipe for this dish here

 

Since I found that really great sweet potato and carrot soup on the BBC’s website, I’ve been searching through their recipes for even more yummy meal ideas. When I came across this one, I couldn’t believe how British it was. I mean it’s sausage and beans! The recipe calls for whole sausages instead of using slices (which most North American recipes suggest) and it was a type of sausage I’ve never heard of! Thanks to Google, I figured out that it’s similar to Italian sausage, so that’s what I used. It’s always interesting to discover the little differences between cultures that on the surface seem so similar.

This dish was just ok for me. Having to cut my sausages when they were in my bowl was kind of weird. It also had a weird texture. Basically it came out as a bunch of beans and tomato chunks with sausages on top and tomato juice randomly floating around in the bottom of the bowl. I haven’t made many stews in my life, but I’m pretty sure this did not achieve a proper “stew” consistency. The recipe was unclear but now I know for the future (and to tell you) that YES YOU SHOULD DRAIN THE TOMATOES. This will let the dish get to that thick, gooey consistency I was aiming for.

Leave a Reply

