Breakfast for Dinner # 16: Twice-baked Breakfast Potatoes

Twice-baked Breakfast Potatoes

Bacon, eggs, potatoes, salt, pepper, marble cheese, cream

I used the recipe found here

 

Wanna know a secret? This is actually my second attempt at making these baked potatoes. The first time, about 3 weeks ago, I wasn’t really thinking after I took them out of the microwave and instead of scooping the insides out with a spoon, I turned them over and smushed them onto a plate, which obviously totally destroyed the skins. Duh! This time, though, I was very cognizent of what I was doing, plus my boyfriend helped 😉

I never in a million years would’ve thought to combine twice-baked potatoes with breakfast foods; good thinking, Food Network! These were chock-full of bacon, since you mix some with the potato guts and put some on top. Delicious! The bacon and cheese really season these on their own, so with just a few shakes of salt and pepper it tastes perfect, no need for tons of extra herbs and spices (unless that’s your thing).

One word of caution: use either tiny eggs or huge potatoes. When I broke the eggs on top of the potatoes, a large portion of the whites ran over the side, which really seemed like a waste of food because it just stuck to the foil I’d used to line the baking sheet and was unsalvageable. The recipe did say to only cut of the top quarter of the potato, which would’ve made the egg well deeper, while I cut them in half so maybe that was the problem. Either way, this was a small price to pay for a very tasty meal!

One thought on “Breakfast for Dinner # 16: Twice-baked Breakfast Potatoes

Leave a Reply

