Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quinoa Bowls

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quinoa Bowls

Quinoa, black beans, sweet potato, taco seasoning, olive oil

I used this recipe

 

It’s back. My love-hate partner, quinoa. Every other time I’ve made it, it’s given me grief but this time it actually behaved. I’ve found the secret is to just not even attempt to rinse and drain the quinoa. I’ve read that if you don’t, it can give you gastro-intestinal problems but I didn’t encounter any, plus I assumed buying organic would help with that too. I thought I’d give quinoa another try because it’s so good for you and is a great replacement for rice or pasta to make a dish more filling. Plus let’s be honest, I wanted to be a little trendy and hop on the quinoa bowl train.

This dish was just as good as I hoped it would be. The roasted sweet potatoes had a great texture and taste and paired well with the black beans as always. I was afraid that using an entire package of taco seasoning would overpower the dish, but splitting it between the sweets and the quinoa gave this dinner the perfect amount of flavour.

Honestly, I can’t rave over this dish like I do some others but it is one of my favourite vegetarian meals to date. It wouldn’t make my top 10 list but when I want something healthier, this will definitely be an option!

Leave a Reply

