Chicken Tortellini Soup

Chicken Tortellini Soup

Chicken breast, cheese tortellini, chicken broth, peas, green beans, corn, carrots, lima beans, thyme, oregano, garlic plus seasoning

I found the recipe here

 

For the first time since I moved, I’m sick. As a kid, I was sick so often that they considered holding me back in Kindergarten if I hadn’t been so smart. Since then, I’ve gotten immune to pretty near every illness I come across and have an immune system of steel. Unfortunately, my boyfriend caught a cold and kindly gave it to me. The day I made this soup, I laid on the couch most of the day, my throat prickly and stuffy. It was a happy accident that I’d planned on making chicken noodle soup sometime in the week anyway.

I really wanted this soup to be delicious. Maybe the addition of cheese to chicken soup was too weird for me. Maybe it was that I ran out of broth and had to use some water, which greatly diluted the flavour. Maybe it was that I used that frozen vegetable mix and green beans taste weird with chicken broth. Maybe it was that I was sick and feeling picky. Whatever the reason, this dish fell flat for me.

If you’re a chicken soup lover, this would put an awesome new twist on an old fave. Otherwise, it’s just a “meh” dinner for when you don’t have time to make something more fun and complex.

Leave a Reply

