Roasted Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Grilled Cheese

Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup

Carrots, sweet potatoes, olive oil, chicken broth, salt, pepper, cinnamon, thyme, garlic powder

I used the recipe found here

 

I wish I had made about 39583759373 gallons of this soup so I could eat it forever. Yes, I thought it was that good. As you probably know, I’ve historically had some trouble with soups. They’re either not the right consistency or taste weird. This time, everything was perfect. It came out thick but not chunky or like mashed potatoes and was seasoned like [insert Italian stereotype kissing fingers here]. If my boyfriend like sweet potatoes more, I’d make this nearly every week of the winter.

This dinner was the first time I really felt like a chef. Not that that’s what I’m aspiring to be, nor do I think I’m in any way creative or extraordinary in the kitchen. That said, I made this entire dish without measuring anything. I’m usually not a total stickler for measuring, a trait I inherited from my mom, but this time I didn’t break out a single measuring cup or spoon. The recipe I used is from the BBC, so I was lost on their measurements anyway, besides that the recipe directs you to use “plenty of seasoning,” as if that is in any way helpful. The combo of my laziness/stubbornness and a vague recipe somehow led to an absolutely delicious soup. I just grabbed whatever seasonings I felt would go well with sweet potatoes and carrots, threw some in, and hoped for the best.

The addition of grilled cheese to make this a full meal really pushed it over the top. I’ve never been a huge fan of tomato soup, so having a yummier option to dip my sammy in made my night. If you want to try eating vegetarian for a day, this meal is my suggestion!

4 thoughts on “Roasted Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

