Tuscan Chicken with Tomatoes and White Beans

Tuscan Chicken with Tomatoes and White Beans

Chicken breast, white beans, garlic and olive oil diced tomatoes, garlic plus seasoning

I used this recipe

 

Ok, so I normally use recipes as guidelines, but this one I (mostly by accident) used only as the basis for an idea. Normally when I’m searching recipes on Pinterest, I read the ingredient lists pretty thoroughly so I can make my grocery list, but only skim the instructions. Big mistake there. About an hour before I wanted to start cooking, I pulled this recipe up to see what I would be working with. To my surprise, this is a crockpot recipe! Whoops! I obviously didn’t have time to cook this in the crockpot as we wanted to eat before 11 pm, so I improvised.

I pulled my 9×13 baking dish out of the cupboard, greased it up with some olive oil, slapped in 3 chicken breasts, poured the beans and tomatoes on top, and sprinkled it all with my beloved garlic plus. Then, I just popped it in the oven for about 40 minutes. Literally one of the easiest dinners I’ve ever prepared.

I was actually kind of disappointed in this one to be honest. I’ve gotten so used to casseroles, stir-fries, and rice bowls, I’ve forgotten what it’s like to eat a big piece of meat. It kind of weirded me out a little! It was also a little watery from a mix of the tomato and chicken juices; not sure if that would’ve been the case in the crockpot or not. This dinner was tasty for sure but texture-wise, not my fave.

Leave a Reply

