Baked Chicken and Spinach Flautas

 

Chicken and Spinach Flautas

Chicken breast, taco seasoning, spinach, salsa, Tex-Mex cheese blend, whole wheat tortillas

You can find the original recipe here

 

Yum yum yum! As you can surely tell, I’ve become more than a little obsessed with taquitos/flautas. I love me a tortilla but for some reason I’m super terrible at eating tacos, burritos, and the like without losing half the filling to either my plate or my lap :p Flauatas are a little crisper because they’re baked (or fried) , so they stay rolled up better. Plus, you can put just about anything in them and it tastes great!

I’m also a fan of these recipes that contain healthy veggies but also taco seasoning. It’s a great way to disguise that distinctive “green” taste without losing any nutrients. I realize it adds up to a lot of salt and MSG but it’s honestly a small price to pay in order to get both my boyfriend and I to both willingly eat our daily vegetables.

This recipe specifically was really scrumptious! I chopped the chicken into chunks instead of pulling it to make the prep a little easier. This may be one of my favourite ways to eat spinach ever! This dinner contained lots of nutrious veggies (spinach and salsa), calcium-rich light cheese, lean protein, and whole grains but just tasted like our favourite yummy Tex-Mex cuisine.

 

Leave a Reply

