Bacon and Butternut Squash Soup

 


Bacon and Butternut Squash Soup

Bacon, butternut squash, carrots, leeks, onions, chicken broth, thyme

I modified the recipe found here

 

This was so bad I couldn’t even eat it. But hear me out! It wasn’t the original cook’s fault; it was totally mine.

The texture: perfect. The taste: nooooooooope. The problem was that I tried to cheat and it backfired big time. My local grocery store carries packages of pre-diced butternut squash for those of us who would rather not spend half an evening wrestling with a weird-shaped fruit. One package was pure squash, the other was a mix specifically for soup that also contained carrots, onions, and leeks. Wanting to be more adventurous, I chose the latter. What a mistake.

When the time came to actually cook this soup, I opened the veggie package and almost puked from the strong onion-y smell. It was like green onions (my sworn enemy) had taken over my kitchen. Even after cooking down for half an hour, their taste still dominated the soup and lingered in my apartment. Needless to say, I ended up eating leftovers from the night before. My boyfriend didn’t seem to mind the onion overload and was super excited about having bits of bacon in his soup. At least someone liked it!

I want to emphasize that I didn’t like my messed-up version of this dish, but I’m sure if I made it with pure squash, it would be much tastier!

Leave a Reply

