Lentil Tacos

Lentil Tacos

Lentils, chicken broth, refried beans, taco seasoning, shredded marble cheese, salsa

Based on this recipe

 

Until about a month ago, I didn’t even know that replacing meat, specifically ground beef, with lentils was a thing. But it totally is and it’s totally yummy! I prepared the filling for these like I would a normal taco. The only thing was, even after boiling the lentils for over half an hour, they still seemed not quite cooked. Next time I’ll either cook them for longer or prep them the day before and just mix them with the taco seasoning right before dinner.

I really didn’t think that a vegetarian taco would be this good! It’s not like it actually tasted like beef because, duh, no greasy fatty taste and a chewier texture, but going in knowing it was lentils this dinner was a more than satisfying replacement. In fact, without the grease to cut the spice of the taco seasoning and salsa, these tacos were even more flavourful than usual! This was also the first time I tried putting refried beans on our tacos and we both loved it! My BF kept commenting on them and has even been trying to subtly hint that I should include them in more dishes.

Also, I realized that I’m tagging all these things as “vegetarian” that actually have chicken broth in them. It’s really no biggie! That’s just to my taste. You can of course use vegetable broth or just plain water and lots of seasoning in its place 🙂 I love discovering new ways to make vegetarian meals for us!

 

Leave a Reply

