Pasta e Fagioli Soup

Pasta e Fagioli Soup

Red kidney beans, white beans, macaroni, mixed vegetables, Italian sausage, chicken broth, diced tomatoes, garlic plus seasoning, olive oil, salt, pepper

You can find the recipe here

 

This was one of the most pleasant surprises I’ve ever made! I’ve never had the Olive Garden soup that this recipe is a copycat of, and frankly I’m not the biggest fan of tomato-based vegetable soups, so I was wary of this one. I kept it on my Pinterest for months before I tried it! Lucky for me, this soup was AMAZING!

My BF cannot stop talking about this dish. He loves anything with sausage in it, so when I told him we were having a sausage soup, he could hardly wait for it. I’m really on a bean kick these days, and this soup definitely delivered on that front. The veggies, beans, and pasta made this dish super filling and the meat added a yummy hint of spice that’s always lacking from vegetable soup. This recipe also makes a TON of food, so we each got 2 lunches out of it besides stuffing ourselves at dinner.

The only modification I really made to this dish was the vegetables. Instead of using carrots and celery, I just used a bag of frozen mixed veggies I had sitting in the freezer. They’re supposed to be a Thai stir-fry mix (hence the random baby corns!) but they were unseasoned so worked just fine.  Vegetables are vegetables and we ended up getting more variety, which means more vitamins! Score!

Leave a Reply

