Vegetarian Shepard’s Pie

Vegetarian Shepard’s Pie

Lentils, white potatoes, green beans, carrots, corn, peas, lima beans, chicken broth, cream, salt, pepper, garlic powder, thyme

You can find the recipe here

 

This is really a week full of “meh” recipes. I was so excited to try this dish because I’ve been trying to work at least one vegetarian dinner into my meal plan each week. I really like lentils and LOVE shepard’s pie so I couldn’t wait to make it. Unfortunately, it turned out just ok.

Maybe it was that my expectations were way too high. Maybe it was that I didn’t make enough mashed potatoes for the top. Maybe half the fun of shepard’s pie is the beef fat taste. Whatever the reason, this dish ultimately didn’t excite me. Just like the tortellini, I have no actual complaints. Everything was cooked fine, it was seasoned pretty well, it was filling and made great leftovers. It just wasn’t memorable.

I think if you’re usually meat-free, this dish would be a great fit for you. That way, there’s no basis for comparison with the “normal” version and hence, it doesn’t feel like it’s missing something. Probably won’t make this one again.

 

Leave a Reply

