Chicken Pasta with Veggies in Cauliflower “Alfredo” Sauce

 

Chicken Pasta “Alfredo”

Chicken breast, roasted red peppers, spinach, spaghetti, olive oil, cauliflower, milk, garlic powder, salt, pepper, paprika, water

Sauce recipe here and overall dish recipe here

 

As many of you may know (or have gathered from past posts), I am lactose sensitive and realized this restriction about 2.5 years ago. Of all the dietary restrictions I could’ve been cursed with, this is the most torturous one possible! My favourite foods used to be cheese, ice cream, yogurt, and baked potato soup. Needless to say, I’ve been missing creamy foods a lot and pout whenever I see a delectable alfredo recipe on Pinterest. During one search for new dinners to try, I stumbled upon this beauty. It’s a creamy, alfredo-esque sauce that only has 1/4 cup of dairy in the entire batch of sauce. Win!

Even though I wanted desperately to try this cream sauce substitute, I was still skeptical. What a fool I was! This sauce offered all the creaminess and garlicky taste of real alfredo sauce without the belly ache. Unfortunately though, the recipe instructs cooks to pour some pasta water in with the pre-made sauce. DO NOT DO THIS!!! My sauce was the perfect consistency until I added the water. Now it’s soupy and weird. This was literally the only bad thing about this entire dish. Both my boyfriend and I are excited to make this one again because it tasted great, was relatively healthy, and we want to make the sauce successfully this time!

One thought on “Chicken Pasta with Veggies in Cauliflower “Alfredo” Sauce

Leave a Reply

