Roasted Red Pepper and Cauliflower Soup

Roasted Red Pepper and Cauliflower Soup

Red bell peppers, cauliflower, salt, pepper, paprika, thyme, garlic powder, water

You can find the original recipe here

 

This is only the second time I’ve attempted a pureed soup and I have to say, it turned out pretty great! Blending the cauliflower was a little tough but neither of us minded a few small veggie chunks in our bowls. It was also my first time roasting my own red peppers and they came out yummy! It was a lot easier than I expected to make one of my favourite food elements. I liked that this recipe was simple enough that I could easily adjust the amount it made. I didn’t want a gallon of soup leftover in my fridge and by just reducing the amount of veggies, we now have only one little container left.

Though this recipe was tasty and relatively easy to make, I have two criticisms. First, it took wayyyy longer to cook than I expected a soup would takes, so we ended up eating later than usual. Each step was simple but time-consuming. Second, it was frankly a little bland. I used more herbs and spices than the recipe called for and it still basically tasted like a red bell pepper. I’m not a confident enough cook yet to say how I’d improve the recipe, but it definitely lacked something.

Leave a Reply

