Chicken Tortilla Soup

IMG_1649Chicken Tortilla Soup with Homemade Cornbread

Chicken breast, stewed tomatoes, taco seasoning, refried beans, corn, water, marble cheese

I used this recipe

This was a mighty good soup! The spicy beans and seasoning mix made boring old tomato soup into a surprising meal. The best part was, it made A LOT, so this recipe would be great for families, meal planning, or simply creating leftovers for work lunches.

I had been craving cornbread and when I found this soup recipe, I knew I had a perfect dinner in the works. I was going to go the lazy route and buy pre-made cornbread from the grocery store, but I found none, not even a boxed mix. Instead, I bought some corn flour and hoped for the best. My first attempt was such a hit, my boyfriend ate the leftovers as a snack!

Making this soup made me realize I REALLY need to read labels more closely. First, I had opened a carton of chicken broth the week before for another dinner and put the remainder back in the cupboard. Thank god I realized this was a mistake BEFORE pouring the rancid remains into this soup. I had to use water as the soup’s base instead. Luckily, it’s a very flavourful soup already, so we didn’t even miss the broth! I also accidentally picked up stewed tomato halves instead of diced tomatoes. BF didn’t mind, but I found the big, random tomato hunks to be a turn-off. Other than these minor hiccups, everything went smoothly. This warm, spicy, yummy dinner gets 2 thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

