Chicken Taco Bowls

IMG_1565Chicken Taco Bowls

Chicken breast, black beans, corn, brown rice, taco seasoning, salsa

You can find the recipe here

It’s actually been awhile since I made these but since I worked 8 hours each day of the weekend I didn’t really feel up to updating my blog. But today’s a day off, so you get 2 blog posts, yay!

This recipe turned out just as I expected: it was easy to make since I used the crock pot, it had that tasty Tex-Mex flair, and it was healthy and filling thanks to the whole grains, veggies, and lean protein. It was nothing new or exciting or really even unique but it was still so good. Like the food equivalent of watching season 5 of your favourite TV show. And just like your favourite show, you also like watching repeats of it later, and this dish made amazing leftovers to take to work. Aside from that, I don’t have much to say! Maybe a word of advice for shredding the chicken: I left it til the end which made it hard to do because I couldn’t see it through the salsa and rice, plus trying to stab the whole chicken breasts was impossible since it was so deliciously tender. Perhaps shred the chicken about 3/4 the way through cooking and then add the salsa and rice. Happy slow-cooking!

Leave a Reply

