Smoked Sausage and Cheesy Rice

IMG_1560 Smoked Sausage and Cheesy Rice

Cheese-stuffed smoked sausages, cheddar cheese, broccoli, brown rice, garlic powder, red bell pepper

I used the recipe found here

When I first stumbled upon this recipe, I had mixed feelings about it. It sounded like it would taste just ok and would be a dish I valued more for its veggie and protein content than anything else. Boy, was I wrong!

The ingredients seem like random things to throw together but everything came together deliciously! The cheese tied all the flavours together and balanced the vegetable-y taste of the broccoli. The salty sausages and sweet peppers rounded out the perfect chaos of flavours of this dish. The rice also made my belly happily full.

I love when a recipe turns out better than I expected. Pleasant kitchen surprises are the best! Sometimes I get discouraged when I search for new dishes to try since I can only handle a small amount of dairy in my meals. This means no cream-of soups, which make casseroles and other dishes easy and tasty with little effort. Whenever I find something like this that tastes heavenly with only a tiny amount of dairy, it feels like a victory. I have to say, I’m pretty excited to eat the leftovers of this yummy dinner.

2 thoughts on “Smoked Sausage and Cheesy Rice

  1. I love new rice recipes. I always have rice in my pantry, so it is an easy go-to when I have no plan. I usually make my sausage one way, too, so this gives me an idea of how to change my routine. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

