Caramel Apple Cake

IMG_1532Caramel Apple Cake

Apples, vegetable oil, brown sugar, white sugar, margarine, eggs, vanilla extract, flour, salt, cinnamon, baking powder, half-and-half

I used this recipe for the cake and this one for the caramel sauce

Ok so this may or may not be the most delicious thing I’ve made. I’m talking ever in my life. It was also a thrilling culinary adventure that made me feel much better after the not-so-fun of the sweet potato cakes. Everything came out perfectly, nothing gave me trouble, and both of us (even my fruit-hating bf) are in total love with the taste.

One awesome thing about this cake is that it’s made with just one apple. Last weekend, I went apple-picking with some friends and we scored some absolute monsters on trees further back in the orchard that other people had missed. Something about picking the fruit yourself makes it taste better 😉 This was also the first time I’d attempted making caramel and it worked great! At first I was worried because it wasn’t thickening properly but soon it got sticky and gooey, making a perfect layer on top of our cake slices. Fall desserts for the win!!

Leave a Reply

