Stuffed Pepper Casserole

IMG_1436Stuffed Pepper Casserole

Red bell pepper, orange bell pepper, red sauce, shredded mozzarella cheese, ground turkey, rice

Found the recipe for this dish here

This is the best last-minute dish I’ve ever made! When I looked in my fridge Wednesday night, I realized I’d accidentally bought a pound of ground turkey that wasn’t in my meal plan and it was about to expire. What to make? It was too hot out for chili, we’d just had tacos and meatloaf and meatballs. What else could I do with ground meat? That’s when stuffed peppers popped into my head. I went to the grocery store for bell peppers with every intention of halving, stuffing, and baking them like gorgeous, colourful little bowls of meat and rice. Then I got lazy.

As I mentioned before, I love a casserole. They’re just so yummy and convenient and there are endless recipes for them. The longer I thought about stuffing pepper halves, the more I just saw a big mess during prep and eating. I’m not about unnecessary messes. So casserole version it was! BF and I both loved it, especially because it tasted so different from any other tomato sauce/meat/starch combo I’ve made before. Plus, the peppers didn’t overpower the taste of everything, which was nice.

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Pepper Casserole

Leave a Reply

