Cheesy Pesto Stuffed Chicken

IMG_1308Cheesy Pesto Stuffed Chicken

Chicken breast, basil pesto, mozzarella cheese

An extremely modified version of this recipe

I really should read the recipes I intend to make more carefully before I grocery shop. This one calls for thinly sliced chicken breast tenderloins that you stuff with the goodies and roll up. Unfortunately, all I had were big fat double D size chicken breasts, so I sliced into them, put in the toppings, and toothpicked them together. Still tasty but not as cute!

I also decided not to bread the chicken as the recipe suggests. One reason was that I used up all my eggs on the frittatas so using an egg to make the breadcrumbs stick was a no go. The bigger reason was that we’ve been eating less healthy than usual this week because of all the delicious goodies my parents brought, so any unnecessary carbs/calories/fat/generally bad-for-you stuff is out.

This dish was yummy but not memorable. It’s a nice way to prepare chicken but not that unique. It could also use more flavour than the recipe suggests; I should have broken out my signature garlic plus to make this good meal great!

Leave a Reply

